Frank Heppner is new member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina


The National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina welcomes new Academy members on Wednesday, 10 July 2019 at 5.30 PM.

The scientists belong to Class III-Medicine. The President of the Leopoldina, Professor Jörg Hacker, will welcome the members and present them their membership certificates during the Class III evening lecture.

In recognition of his scientific achievements, Prof. Dr. Frank Heppner will also be honoured this year. This is one of the highest scientific awards a German institution can bestow upon a person.

Prof. Dr. Frank Heppner is Director of the Institute of Neuropathology at the Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin.

The following members have been elected to Class III:

  • Christiane J. Bruns, Universitätsklinikum Köln, Klinik und Poliklinik für Allgemein-, Viszeral- und Tumorchirurgie (Sektion Chirurgie, Orthopädie und Anästhesiologie)
  • Thomas Deller, Goethe-Universität Frankfurt/Main, Dr. Senckenbergische Anatomie, Institut für Klinische Neuroanatomie (Sektion Anatomie und Anthropologie)
  • Simone Fulda, Universitätsklinikum Frankfurt/Main, Institut für Experimentelle Tumorforschung in der Pädiatrie, Zentrum für Kinder- und Jugendmedizin (Sektion Gynäkologie und Pädiatrie)
  • Thomas Gasser, Universitätsklinikum Tübingen, Neurologische Klinik, Zentrum für Neurologie (Sektion Neurowissenschaften)
  • Anca-Ligia Grosu, Universitätsklinikum Freiburg, Klinik für Strahlenheilkunde (Sektion Radiologie)
  • Susanne Hartmann, Freie Universität Berlin, Zentrum für Infektionsmedizin, Institut für Immunologie (Sektion Veterinärmedizin)
  • Frank Heppner, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Institut für Neuropathologie (Sektion Pathologie und Rechtsmedizin)
  • Georg F. Hoffmann, Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg, Abteilung Kinderheilkunde, Zentrum für Kinder- und Jugendmedizin (Sektion Gynäkologie und Pädiatrie)
  • Martin Hrabĕ de Angelis, Helmholtz Zentrum München, Institut für Experimentelle Genetik (Sektion Veterinärmedizin)
  • Peter Rosenberger, Universitätsklinikum Tübingen, Universitätsklinik für Anästhesiologie und Intensivmedizin (Sektion Chirurgie, Orthopädie und Anästhesiologie)
  • Ursula Schlötzer-Schrehardt, Universitätsklinikum Erlangen, Augenklinik (Sektion Ophthalmologie, Oto-Rhino-Laryngologie und Stomatologie)

The welcoming of the new members will take place in the main building of the Leopoldina, Jägerberg 1, in Halle (Saale) and is open to the public. You are cordially invited to participate in the event. The event is free of charge, please register by 8 July.


Since its foundation in 1652, the Leopoldina has been dedicated to the advancement of free and independent science for the benefit of humankind. With a base of about 1,500 members, the Leopoldina unites the forces of outstanding scientists from Germany, Austria, Switzerland and many other countries.


Source: Press Release of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

Prof. Dr. Frank Heppner Direktor Institut für Neuropathologie
Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin
Mitglied des Exzellenzclusters NeuroCure
E-Mail: frank.heppner(at)


Go back